shed some light

http://magicpie.smugmug.com/

Shot Topics

I was originally going to do something on the Matisse exhibition at the MOMA. Through my research I stumbled upon a Brazilian film festival showing at the MOMA. I gathered that everybody loves Matisse anyway so why not shed some light on one of my favorite topics. Brasil. (above photo) A collaboration between MOMA and the Rio de Janeiro international film festival this festival intends to shed light on up and coming film makers coming out of Brasil. All films shown will be New York Premiere’s and I’m proper excited. Come to think of it everybody loves Brasil so maybe I should have done the Matisse article instead. Too late now..

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Due to the fact that i’m a huge boxing fan and haven’t as yet made any reference to this on my blog I have decided to present a special collectors edition of PROPA!

(I must add that I decided to focus on heavyweights for this edition)

PROPA

Muhammad Ali

Simply The Greatest

Album of the Day

I was once at Narita Airport on my way back from Tokyo. Closer to the front of the line to board the plane I saw this group of young japanese girls giggling excitedly as they exchanged awkward broken English pleasantries with some guy wearing wraparound shades and a wife beater undershirt. I scoffed to myself. who’s this guy think he is, some kind of rock star?! As I approached the tunnel to board the plane I see the same guy yapping it up with the air stewardess. What! I smiled to myself. This guy really thinks he’s…As I edged closer my eyes widened and it dawned on me..That’s Anthony Kiedis. I shuffled by and yelled hey anthony. Californication. Classik album bro! He nodded politely and continued his conversation with the female air steward. I meant every word..

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

PROPA

Joe Frazier

may well be my favorite boxer of all time. unfortunately fought in the same era as the dude above

Film Of The Day

This could be my favorite Pedro Almodovar movie. Certainly ‘Kika’ ranks up there. ‘Tie Me Up Tie Me Down’. ‘Talk To Her’ as well. ‘Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown’ was the first Almodovar film I ever saw. Part comedy part high drama. A television celebrity loses her man and hence loses her mind. That’s the basis but typical of Almodovar there’s a cavalry of characters and subplots twists and turns. Totally ambivalent to Hollywood with one of my favorite opening sequences ever. Hard to sell this film. You just gotta go see it I guess.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

PROPA

Jack Dempsey

sorry i couldn’t find a photo of him in a suit cause he was a legendary knock out artist in his day

Leave a comment