been there done that

http://magicpie.smugmug.com/

Shot Topics

Happy Birthday Breathless. you are officially 50 years old! I haven’t as yet written a review on you partly because I’m obsessive compulsive and I have to do my reviews in the exact order that I arranged them, but if I were really being truthful I would have to say that I have way too much to say about how terrific you are. Jump cuts, Jean Paul Belmondo, Jean Seberg, Parisian chic, cops n robbers, jazz soundtrack, guns and girls suits n boots,Jean Luc Godard more jump cuts and on and on and on and on..

PHOTO OF SERGE PART 1

Album Of The Day

Quite a few years ago I spotted a photo of Serge Gainsbourg in a book. I remember him having a cane, sitting on a stool and this tall statuesque model was standing beside him. For some reason i was mesmerized by this photo. The next day I went out and bought the first serge gainsbourg album I could get my hands on. It was an album of him doing French cabaret cover songs. Utter garbage! I gave it one listen and that was that. years later I was at my mates place in Bedstuy discussing music and what not. after a heavy discussion on Earth Wind & Fire he started talking about Serge. I was like. Nah. Been there done that. his stuff is wack. He gave me a sideways glance and handed me this album. ‘histoire de melody nelson‘  Hypnotic from start to finish. It was sexy, funky, everything I expected from my first Serge Gainsbourg excursion. He finally got to live up to that photo. Great album.

PHOTO OF SERGE PART 2

Film of the Day

Gangster number 1 is as slick a gangster flick as you’ll ever see. Decent story to boot. Paul Bettany lusts for power as he pays his dues as a henchman for David Thewlis who’s the head of the firm. Seeing a kink in his armor (a female) he makes his play by setting him up for a beating and then torturing and murdering the culprit behind this dastardly deed. This elevates his status and he becomes gangster numero uno. David Thewlis gets out the nick. Paul Bettany who by now has transformed into Malcolm Mcdowell thinks he wants revenge and doesn’t get why he doesn’t want to put two to the back of his head for what he’s done to him. That pretty much sums it up. Proper

========================================================================

PHOTO OF SERGE PART3


3 thoughts on “been there done that

  1. I loved this blog..music and movies…the things I love.. Don’t know anything about Serge Gainsbourg’s music other than the fact that some of his songs have been part of some film’s soundtracks, but after reading this blog, I’ll do my research.

  2. In paris right now, sipping a red wine with the brother in law, and listning to the pod cast, its good look, we need pt2…LIVELY

    Nathan & Hoang

    Wicked

Leave a comment