that good stuff

http://magicpie.smugmug.com/

SHOT TOPICS

When I was a kid I was invited to a day out at Highbury football stadium, home of my beloved Arsenal football club. The stadium was empty but they allowed us to kick penalties, have a kick around with a few of the players and all of that good stuff. It was the closest that I ever came to actually playing professional football at a soccer stadium which was a childhood dream of mine. Zidane: A twentieth century portrait at B.A.M. cinema definitely placed me closer to the action than that unforgettable childhood experience, by placing numerous cameras on the master, and with an imaginative manipulation of sound, these film makers bring you the intensity, concentration and focus that many observers take for granted when watching a game of footie. Definitely one for the real enthusiast but worth the admission if like me you once followed this great player’s career.

I USED TO KINDA DIG YOUR WORK…. BUT NOW I’M GOING OFF YA

M.I.A

Film of the Day

This masterpiece from Bernardo Bertolucci is often hailed as the most beautiful film of all time. Thinking bold statement well that probably means you haven’t seen it. Our main protagonist is targeted by a fascist organization to lead a deadly mission in france. In doing so his past catches up with him and things go a bit pear-shaped (as we say in London) Vittorio Storaro’s cinematography has inspired a legion of film makers ever since. The Conformist. Essential my friend…

===========================================================================

I USED TO DIG YOUR WORK…. BUT NOW I’M GOING OFF YA

THE WHITE STRIPES

Album of the Day

I’m a huge fan of Nick Drake. Something about his smoky morbid vocals do it for me. His songs are real melodic and have a childlike quality but there’s always that element of sadness. For me folk music is like French music. I don’t listen to a lot of it but when it’s good it’s really good. Then again I’m not sure if I’d classify Nick’s work as folk, maybe soul is a more appropriate description, forget the labels just enjoy! This is my favorite album of his. He committed suicide five years after recording it.

=========================================================================

I USED TO REALLY DIG YOUR WORK…. BUT NOW I’M GOING OFF YA

MARTIN SCORSESE

3 thoughts on “that good stuff

  1. Hey, did you see “Zidane” at BAM yesterday? I saw the 4:30 screening. Funny. I included it in my blog too. Really kind of a brilliant film.

Leave a comment