words cannot express

Shot Topics
Last Friday I did a DJ set as part of the New York fashion night out extravaganza. I was fortunate enough to have the drummer from ‘The Smiths’ Mike Joyce in attendance. we exchanged pleasantries. I told him how huge a fan I was. He said he dug the music. That night I headed to Chinatown with my wife and a few friends. As I hit Canal Street one of my friends glimpsed KRS One getting out of an SUV. I gave him a shout out hoping he’d acknowledge my presence. To my surprise he jogged over, shook my hand and we conversed for I’d say hmm. About 30 seconds. Sometimes life gives you these fleeting moments that mere words cannot express.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

PROPA!

ESSENTIAL ALBUMS EDITION

KRS ONE

CRIMINAL MINDED

one of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. period

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Album of the Day
Jadakiss’ first and best album ‘Kiss The Game Goodbye’ is the closest we get to his raw mix tape output in the form of an album. He has an ear for radio but he can’t help but spit acid on every track. Every tracks a banger even the more commercial joints. That’s Jada’s gift. his style remains raw regardless of the beats credibility. It’s a gift and gifts are to be enjoyed.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

PROPA!

ESSENTIAL ALBUMS

THE SMITHS

THE QUEEN IS DEAD

i could have chosen any of their albums, but this album has alan delon on the cover!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Film of the Day
There was a time I was really into David Mamet‘s work. ‘House of Games’ was one of my favorite films of the nineties as was Glengarry Glenross. My interest faded a little over the years and I felt less inclined to seek him out. I guess his style just wasn’t doing it for me anymore. Anyhow I was at my crib the other day watching Oleanna his play on sexual harrassment (both male and female depending on which way you look at it) I hadn’t seen it in years and though I wouldn’t say it reignited my obsession I can safely say it was a genuine reminder of his uncanny ear for dialogue and a good starting point for anyone who wants to get in tune with the unique craftmanship of Mr Mamet.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

PROPA

ESSENTIAL ALBUMS

STEREOLAB

BBC SESSIONS

if you’re djing a fashion party and you’re stuck for music throw on any track on this disc!

2 thoughts on “words cannot express

  1. Criminal Minded, a special mention should go out to Ced Gee who produced the album but was never officially credited. Ultra Magnetic baby!!

Leave a comment