i must admit

http://magicpie.smugmug.com/

Shot Topics
I have to write about this upcoming Arthur remake with Russell Brand. I knew it was coming but shoved it to the back of my mind as if ignoring it would make it go away. But its going to happen and I’m forced to deal with it. Under much self-analysis. I came to the conclusion that I have such acute feelings toward this project because Arthur is mine! It was my favorite movie as a child and it stuck with me throughout my adult years. Very few people cared or appreciated my love for this film. Eyebrows were raised during many a drunken debate when I included it in my top twenty and that was fine with me. I just dug the flick a no pretense romp of a film with great dialogue filled with many a quotable line. Riches to rags to riches again. Dudley Moore, what was there not to like. Regardless of all this the film connoisseurs remained indifferent. Now once this film comes out every Tom Dick and Harriet is going to be like “oh. did you hear they’re finally doing a remake of Arthur. I love that movie. You know the one with Dudley Moore”. Not sure where i’m going with this write up, just had to vent…

______________________________________________________________________________________

ARTISTS WHO CAN GET AWAY WITH WHATEVER THEY WANT CAUSE THEY’RE EXPRESSING THEIR CREATIVITY

PART 1

LEE SCRATCH PERRY

this mad genius was sampling cows mooing, baby’s crying and cars tooting way before hip hop was invented

__________________________________________________________________________________

Album of the Day
Bjork is not to be tampered with. She’s in an exclusive club. Artists who can never convincingly pull off a bad record cause no matter how weird or bizarre they get I give em a free pass cause they’re “expressing their creativity”. “Pushing the boundaries.” “Going against the grain”. So in effect their music falls into two categories. There’s the material that I can comprehend and then there’s the stuff that I don’t quite understand. But it’s genius.. I think? There are a few other privileged artists who can claim immunity based on creativity. (check my propa segment) but they’re few and far between so…Don’t mess with Bjork! Homogenic may be my favorite album of hers but as i said it’s all good.

______________________________________________________________________________________

ARTISTS WHO CAN GET AWAY WITH WHATEVER THEY WANT CAUSE THEY’RE EXPRESSING THEIR CREATIVITY

PART 2

NINA SIMONE

that voice. that attitude. the high priestess of soul elevated many a mediocre song to cult status

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Film of the Day
John Travolta did his thing in Get Shorty. I mean he’d already solidified his status with ‘Saturday Night Fever’ ‘Grease’ (Yes Grease) and of course ‘Pulp Fiction’ but his portrayal of Chilli Palmer is the perfect showcase for Travolta’s movie star attributes. He deserves every bit of praise he gets and I’ll even excuse the fact that he hasn’t made a decent movie since. Though I must admit ‘Swordfish’ does have its moments.

____________________________________________________________________________________

ARTISTS WHO CAN GET AWAY WITH WHATEVER THEY WANT CAUSE THEY’RE EXPRESSING THEIR CREATIVITY

PART 3

THE DOORS

was he a drunk masquerading as a poet or a poet masquerading as a drunk? do I own all their albums. yes!

Leave a comment