get involved

R.I.P SUGAR MINOTT

may 25th 1956 – july 10th 2010

I can truthfully say. I was raised on ‘sugar’

Shot Topics

I backed Brasil. Then I backed Germany, Then I backed Holland. Still, I feel Justice has been served. Spain were the better team on the day. Holland remain the greatest to never win it. The World Cup just ended and I miss it already. Brasil 2014 the countdown begins.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

STAYING TRUE TO FEEDBACK

My review of No Doubt’s ‘Tragic Kingdom’ album was met with more negative feedback than any prior review so in the spirit of staying true to feedback i thought I’d clear the air and list three more personal faves that many of my friends find repugnant.

ARTISTS I DIG THAT OTHERS DO NOT! PART 1

Rod Stewart


i know he had a dodgy haircut but he did write some great songs. and that voice!

Album of the Day
Illadelph Halflife is the album where the roots convinced a purist like myself that a band could rock the mic. I dug the first album but it was way laid back made me wanna spark the incense and meditate on life. This album hit me like a steel anvil (to quote a line) tracks like clones, concerto of a desperado, panic. Solidified their hip hop cred in my eyes. The album after this. ‘things fall apart’ is essential too but this is their apex for me. Jimmy Fallon is one lucky guy.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

ARTISTS I DIG THAT OTHERS DO NOT! PART 2

The Carpenters

great arrangements. great vocals. i’m a man of simple needs

Film of the Day
“You’re a big guy but you’re out of shape. With me it’s a full-time job. Now behave yourself”
Ask any Englishman about this movie and they’ll quote that line. An iconic line from an essential moment in this much loved British gangster flick of the seventies. Michael Caine’s brother gets murdered up north, so he leaves London and heads back to the streets of his childhood to find out what happened and who did it. The repercussions for those involved are enormous. When Michael Caine appeared on Charlie Rose he said ‘Get Carter’ was his best film. I agree.

==========================================================================

ARTISTS I DIG THAT OTHERS DO NOT! PART 3

Burt Bacharach

ignore the photo and get involved

Leave a comment